Nominations for the 2017 edition are open!

Nominations for the 2017 edition are open from 1 November and will be available until 15 December 2016. For this appointment on the “expose”.

The latest edition of Tupiniers took place on 10 and 11 september 2016

The theme this year was “Terre de Corée”

Korean contemporary ceramics was in the spotlight and we had the pleasure of receiving and exposing the Korean potters of Gyeongsangbuk-do Ceramic Association.

Yoo, Tae-Keun(1) shim, jae-yong Kim, Ki-Jo 1 Kim, Eui-Sook Cho, Dong-il Ahn, Jin-Seok Baek, Young-Gyu

Editorial

Baek, Young-Gyu(1)

Ceramics has been a major art in the “Land of the Morning Calm” since thousands of years. The most recognized potters accede to the title of Living National Treasure and are part of the Immaterial Cultural Patrimony of the Korean nation.

Today’s South Korea is a synonym of a land of high technology, but has not forgotten its history and traditions. Contemporary Korean artists use ancestral techniques and know-how, as well as the symbolic richness of ceramics in order to develop expressions that reinvent forms and forge new esthetic or personal visions. Tradition and modernity coexist and nourish each other in calm harmony.

For all these reasons we are very glad to receive at our 31st edition of the Tupiniers du Vieux Lyon  the ceramic artists of the Gyeongsangbuk-do Ceramic Association, the first association of Korean professional ceramic artists.

In the heart of our studios, the same passion, the same enthousiasm and the same professionalism motivates all of us – French and Korean ceramic artists.

According to the already famous phrase about our event: “You who dream of or wish to create a better world, do a first step and come to buy a specimen in our market’s alleys.”

We are looking forward to meet you during these two days of our market’s new edition that will take you to the Earth of Korea; and we secretly hope that you will be seduced and go back home with an object, a creation, a small part of this earth that we all share… 

Laurence GIRARD

Ceramic artist

President of the Tupiniers du Vieux Lyon

Belle année 2017

tupinier-voeux-2017

La dernière édition des Tupiniers a eu lieu les 10 et 11 septembre 2016.

Le thème de cette année était  “Terre de Corée”.
La céramique contemporaine Coréenne a été mise à l’honneur et nous avons eu le plaisir de recevoir et d’exposer les céramistes coréens de la Gyeongsangbuk-do Ceramic Association.

Yoo, Tae-Keun(1) shim, jae-yong Kim, Ki-Jo 1 Kim, Eui-Sook Cho, Dong-il Ahn, Jin-Seok Baek, Young-Gyu

Editorial

Baek, Young-Gyu(1)Au pays du matin calme, la céramique est un art majeur depuis des millénaires. Les céramistes les plus reconnus accèdent au titre de Trésor National Vivant et font partie du Patrimoine Culturel Immatériel de la nation coréenne.

Si la Corée du Sud est aujourd’hui synonyme de pays de haute technologie, elle n’a rien oublié de son histoire et de ses traditions. Les artistes coréens contemporains utilisent les techniques et savoirs faires ancestraux, ainsi que la richesse symbolique de la céramique, pour développer des expressions réinventant les formes et forgeant de nouvelles visions, esthétiques ou personnelles. Tradition et modernité cohabitent et se nourrissent l’une l’autre dans une harmonie sereine.

Pour toutes ces raisons, nous sommes très heureux pour cette 31ème édition des Tupiniers du Vieux Lyon de recevoir les céramistes de la Gyeongsangbuk-do Ceramic Association, première association de céramistes professionnels coréens.

Au cœur de nos ateliers, la même passion, le même enthousiasme et le même professionnalisme nous anime tous, céramistes français et coréens.

Selon la formule désormais devenue célèbre sur notre évènement :

« Vous qui rêvez ou mieux cherchez à construire un monde meilleur, faites un premier pas, venez en cueillir un échantillon dans les allées du marché ».

Au plaisir de vous retrouver donc pendant ces deux jours pour cette nouvelle édition de notre manifestation qui vous fera voyager en Terre de Corée, en Terre universelle avec le secret espoir que séduits, vous repartirez avec un objet, une création, petite parcelle de cette terre que nous partageons tous ….

Laurence GIRARD
Céramiste
Présidente des Tupiniers du Vieux Lyon